Website Revisions

It’s been interesting building and rebuilding my website. When I was designing my initial website during my undergrad web design class, I had ideas for an elaborate, animated tab system to feature work in all sorts of categories. Then I went to a strictly black and white design, pulling from Zack Arias’ portfolio website probably (I was very into photography at that point. Still am, but not quite so much maybe). At the moment, I have my blue and orange, which I think does still represent me and my tendencies. I’ve definitely matured as a designer since I put it up though, so I’m working on a refresh. Every time I redesign my website, it tends to simplify. I think that reflects my tendencies as a designer, since I find myself ever more focusing on accomplishing the design’s task as simply and elegantly as possible (my term: minimalist functionalism, though it probably has a better term elsewhere). 

The latest revision is nearly done, so it will be interesting to see what kind of feedback I get from it. I am by no means a web designer, but I can get the job done for simple websites. 

The interactivity of web design is very interesting to me though. I always try to ask myself “how would I interact with this? Am I going to have to click more than is necessary? Does it make sense to organize this page in this way?” Again, I’m sure there’s a better term for it, but one could call it “user centered design.” Design from the user’s perspective, or as close to it as you can, seeing as everyone brings their own sense of aesthetics, personal experiences, and symbolic connotations to the mix. But again, that’s probably one reason I try to design as simply as possible: it gets the job done elegantly while bringing up fewer of those symbolic connotations.

Leave a Reply

